Home > Film Reviews > Toy Story 3

Toy Story 3

Toy Story 3 (2010) – Rated G for some frightening/intense scenes and mild language

I remember when I first watched the original Toy Story back in 1995.  As a child, I was enchanted by the fun story and I wished I had a toy like Woody or Buzz Lightyear.  When I watch it now, as an adult, I still enjoy it immensely and I respect it even more because now I know that it was the first film made entirely by a computer.  Four years later Toy Story 2 came out, and though I was a little older I still loved it!  Now, eleven years later we are presented with Toy Story 3.  Let me tell you, Pixar knows how to take a great story and make it into an even better movie.  Toy Story 3 is no exception.  The toys I grew up watching on the big screen still enchant me!

This time around, Woody, Buzz, and the rest of the gang are trying to figure out what their fate will be when Andy leaves for college.  Will they be tossed to the curb, stored away in the attic, donated to a local daycare, or go with him?  Andy makes the decision to store his toys in the attic except for his beloved Woody, who he chooses to take with him.  Due to a misunderstanding, however, the toys end up being donated to Sunnyside Daycare where their adventures begin.

All of the original voices are back except for Jim Varney, who died in 2000 shortly after Toy Story 2 came out.  Luckily, Pixar cast Varney’s friend Blake Clark to resume duties as Slinky Dog and he does a good job.  The story was cute and fun and the ending is heartfelt.  I actually cried at two different parts of the film, but will not ruin it for you.  All I have to say is, if you grew up with these characters like I have, you’ll probably cry too.  The themes of friendship and loyalty are still here, as well.  I laughed.  I cried.  I had a great time.  Since it’s in 3D and with its large target audience, families with young children and adults who enjoyed the first two films, I think Toy Story 3 has all the potential to be this summer’s biggest hit.  And yes, I am aware that the behemoth The Twilight Saga: Eclipse comes out in a week and a half.  Time will tell, of course!  Filmtastic review = 5 stars.

  1. Beli
    June 22, 2010 at 1:39 am

    I saw this movie just the other day and loved it. It was entertaining from start to finish. I cheered and wanted to cry and over all wanted to play with toys again. It made me feel like a kid and Pixar did an awesome job.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

