Home > Film Reviews > Sex And The City 2

Sex And The City 2

Sex And The City 2 (2010) – Rated R for strong sexual content and language.

Some of my favorite things about Sex And The City, the television series that was on HBO, were the fashion, cosmopolitans, the friendship, strong women, the relationships, New York City, and the sex.  Sex And The City, the movie, had all those things as well.  I actually really liked the first movie.  As a true fan of the series, the first movie fulfilled my desire for the fashion, friendship, the city, and sex that the show gave me.  This time around, however, Sex And The City 2 seemed to be lacking the “sparkle” that the series and first film had.

The movie begins with a gay wedding that director Michael Patrick King has probably dreamed of ever since Massachusetts became the first U.S. state to allow same-sex marriages.  It was complete with an all-male chorus, swans, a black-and-white theme, and Liza Minnelli.  Carrie’s gay best friend, Stanford Blatch, marries Charlotte’s gay best friend, Anthony Marentino and it is at this wedding that the whole gang from the series gets together.  We find that Samantha Jones is still a horny and independent businesswoman.  Miranda Hobbs is still with Steve Brady and trying to balance motherhood with her career as a lawyer.  And Charlotte York is still blissfully married to Harry Goldenblatt.  After this quick “catch-up” for the viewers, there is no other mention of the ladies’ husbands.  Their roles are mere cameos.  There’s even a quick cameo of Smith Jerrod that only leads to the gals flying off to Abu Dhabi.

At this point, I was starting to feel disappointed.  Where was the fashion?  The shoes?  The labels?  Heck, we hardly are given a meal with the four gals that was such a staple in the series and the first film.  Sure, when the girls fly off to Abu Dhabi we are shown lovely decadence and a pretty landscape.  And yes, the girls change outfits so many times you will begin to wonder how much luggage they took with them.  But this didn’t satisfy the fix that I desired.  And I was seriously surprised that Sarah Jessica Parker showed so much cleavage.  We’re used to seeing Kim Cattrall’s bosoms, but SJP was really giving her a run for her money.  And why did they make Miranda so cheery?  She is supposed to be cynical and the voice of reason for the girls.  She is also my least favorite character but that’s besides the point!  She wasn’t cynical in this movie and it felt like a different character completely!  Even Samantha remarks in the film, “You are fun in Abu Dhabi!”

This may sound like I’m just complaining, but as a fan I did feel like I got screwed.  I enjoyed the film, sure, but I didn’t get what I wanted or expected out of it.  Even bringing back the delicious Aiden didn’t make me feel better.  All in all fans of the show will come out for this movie, natch.  But if they’re true fans like I am, they might walk out a tad disappointed like I was.  Filmtastic review = 3 1/2 stars.

  1. Chris
    May 26, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    3.5 stars for that crap fest? That’s 3 stars too many lol. It gets half a star for the nanny!

  2. May 27, 2010 at 5:20 am

    Yeah I guess I was being a little too nice. After thinking about it, I think I should’ve given it 2 1/2 stars lol

  3. Beli
    June 3, 2010 at 11:56 pm

    I like the TV show and really liked the 1st movie but not really interested in seeing this one. Just no excitement after seeing all the trailers for this month alone. Yeah will wait for DVD.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

