Home > Film Reviews > The Human Centipede (First Sequence)

The Human Centipede (First Sequence)

The Human Centipede (First Sequence) (2009) – Rated R for nudity, violence and gore, and frightening/intense scenes.

Before I even walked into the theatre to watch this, I knew what I was getting myself into.  Not only had I read all the reviews and audience reactions, but there was also a warning sign before I entered the auditorium: “The Human Centipede includes scenes of an intense nature.  No refunds will be issued as you have been warned.”  Wow.  Not only does that let me know that some people requested refunds, it lets me know that so many people did that it required a sign at the entrance.  At this point, I was ready.  Bring on the gore!  Bring on the intense scenes!  It’s a shame that I didn’t get what I was expecting.

I should add that I get squeamish quite easily at the sight of vomit.  Even hearing someone vomit.  Now that you know this, you’ll be disappointed to hear that I didn’t really get squeamish watching this.  Sure I closed my eyes for a couple of scenes, but I didn’t have the strong reaction that other audiences seemed to have.  In fact, the other people in my showing didn’t have a strong reaction either.  If anything, we all laughed at the same scenes.  Yes, laughed.  The acting was so bad that I was embarrassed for the actors on the screen.  Lindsay and Jenny, played by Ashley C. Williams and Ashlynn Yennie respectively, were so annoying and idiotic that we didn’t feel bad for them when Dr. Heiter, played with gusto by Dieter Laser, captures them.  For both actresses this was their first role in a major motion picture.  After having seen their performances, I imagine they won’t have much of a career.  I’ve seen better acting from a One Act Play at my old high school.

As for anything good coming out of this movie it would be the campy performance by Dieter Laser, whose name is awesome on its own.  He plays Dr. Heiter with such energy that you can’t help but be mesmerized by his performance.  On that note, he isn’t going to be winning any Academy Awards for this performance, but compared to the rest of the cast he is surely the best.

I purposely didn’t include a full synopsis of the film because there isn’t much of one.  Some girls get lost and knock on the crazy doctor’s door.  Crazy doctor creates a human centipede.  The end.  No matter how many bad reviews this film gets however, curiosity alone will continue to bring the audiences in.  And it is because of this curiosity that director Tom Six will be allowed to continue creating bad films like The Human Centipede.  Surely, this film is already considered a cult classic in the making.  Which is perfectly fine.  It is this “cult classic” status that keeps other bad films like The Room and Troll 2 in theatres.  They’re so bad that they’re good, right?  I think it’s safe to say that this film will continue to be shown in theatres.  If anything, you’ll get a good laugh about it and then forget it.  And I’m sure that’s all its hoping for.  Filmtastic review = 2 stars.

  1. pup
    May 20, 2010 at 7:29 am

    I, for one, enjoyed the movie immensely. I agree the girls’ acting was not something I’m looking forward in a horror movie, but it was neither the horror movie, nor much of acting was expected to come out of the ass-to-mouth dependence they had in the movie. The Japanese man cried like hell. I’ve given the movie 2 out of 5 for acting and 5 out of 5 for the plot and progression.
    That’s something I would like to re-watch from time to time. Gosh, am I not sick?

  2. May 20, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Haha you’re not sick. I would probably watch it again, too. But while drinking beer lol

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

