Home > Film Reviews, News > My Guilty Pleasure Movies

My Guilty Pleasure Movies

Have you ever been a little embarrassed to admit that you liked a certain movie?  I know I have!  And you’d be lying if you said otherwise!  These are a few of my guilty pleasures…movies that I’m a little ashamed to admit I love but I watch them over and over anyway.  If it’s wrong to love these films, then I don’t want to be right!

Batman & Robin (1997) – Directed by Joel Schumacher

Why It’s Embarrassing to Admit I Love It – The bat nipples.  The crotch and butt close-up shots.  The Mr. Freeze one-liners.  The campy dialogue.  The director himself later apologized for the film.  Do I really need to keep saying reasons?

Why I Love It Anyway – George Clooney is smooth and at ease playing the debonair Bruce Wayne.  Uma Thurman’s Poison Ivy was so deliciously campy.  One of my favorite lines from the movie was when she said, “As I told Lady Freeze when I pulled her plug, this is a one woman show!”  And although I mentioned Mr. Freeze’s one-liners as one of the embarrassing reasons to admit I love this film, I gotta say that they are also a HUGE reason why I love it!  Who can forget, “Let’s kick some ice!” or “Tonight, Hell freezes over!” or “Ice to see you!” or “What killed the dinosaurs? The Ice Age!” or…you get the picture.

Armageddon (1998) – Directed by Michael Bay

Why It’s Embarrassing To Admit I Love It – For starters, it’s directed by Michael Bay.  He is the Valedictorian of the MTV Directing School For Idiots and uses explosions at any chance he gets.  Never mind the fact that explosions and fire cannot be contained in a vacuum or that noise cannot be heard in space.  It all looks cool and that’s what he wants.  Are we really supposed to believe that a bunch of drillers that got NASA trained in like a week can land a space shuttle on a moving asteroid the size of Texas?

Why I Love It Anyway – Who cares about all the inaccuracies, right?  It’s a movie!  Ooh look, an explosion in space!  Ordinary people landing expensive NASA equipment on an asteroid (which, by the way, is impossible)!  Ben Affleck and Liv Tyler make an adorable couple.  And when Bruce Willis sacrifices himself at the end of the movie so that his daughter’s fiance can live…I’m tearing up just typing this!

Spice World (1997) – Directed by Bob Spiers

Why It’s Embarrassing To Admit I Love It – Two words: Spice Girls.  And I know all the words to most of their songs.  Heck, I’ll even admit that I own all their albums.  Ok, I’ll stop before I embarrass myself even more.

Why I Love It Anyway – Two words: Spice Girls.  Ok, I’ll admit that I love the Spice Girls.  I loved them when they were popular and I still love them now.  Wait, did I just say that out loud?  No seriously, it is such a fun movie.  And c’mon, SPICE FORCE FIVE!

A Night At The Roxbury (1998) – Directed by John Fortenberry

Why It’s Embarrassing To Admit I Love It – It’s a movie based on a Saturday Night Live skit.  And we all know that the only good movie that is based on an SNL skit is Wayne’s World

Why I Love It Anyway – It’s fun!  Don’t even try to listen to Haddaway’s “What Is Love?” without bobbing your head like Steve and Doug Butabi!

Sidekicks (1992) – Directed by Aaron Norris

Why It’s Embarrassing To Admit I Love It – To begin with, it’s a ripoff of The Karate Kid.  And Chuck Norris is basically spoofing all of his other films in this one.

Why I Love It Anyway – I wouldn’t want to piss off Chuck Norris!  And Jonathan Brandis was such a great actor with so much potential.  It really is such a sad shame that he cut his own life short.  I had the hugest crush on him when I was younger.  And, he was in Ladybugs, another one of my guilty pleasures!

Ok, so there’s five of my guilty pleasure movies.  Believe me, I could go on.  But before I embarrass myself even more I’d love to hear what your guilty pleasure movies are!  Please comment and let me know!  Don’t be shy!

  1. Chris
    May 16, 2010 at 1:37 am

    OMFG SIDEKICKS IS THE SHIIIIIIIT!!!! I LOVE that movie lol!

  2. Wesley
    May 16, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    13 Going On 30, 3 Ninjas, Saving Silverman, Enchanted

  3. May 16, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    Great guilty pleasures, Wes! A few more I thought of were Son-In-Law and Bio-Dome! Can’t go wrong with a Pauly Shore movie!

  4. Wesley
    May 18, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    I’ve got 2 more for ya. Mystery Men and White Chicks.

  5. Beli
    May 25, 2010 at 4:25 am

    Ok my guilty pleasures are Ever After, National Lampoons Christmas Vacation-I watch this yr round, Pride and Prejudice, Gladiator…….many others but cant name all……….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

