Home > Film Reviews > Iron Man 2

Iron Man 2

Iron Man 2 (2010) – Rated PG-13 for sequences of intense sci-fi action and violence, and some language.

Iron Man 2 is a fun summer blockbuster!  Can I say that it is “MARVEL-ous” without sounding corny?  No?  Well I did anyway!  I think a lot of this is due to the fact that it’s filled with a stellar cast.  Robert Downey, Jr. once again shows how perfect he is for the job.  I couldn’t imagine any other actor perfectly embodying Tony Stark’s narcissism and other flaws.  And he does it with such gusto that even when Stark is failing, you can’t help but root for him.  Tony Stark is a rich playboy and genius engineer.  Basically, he’s the kind of character we love to hate.  Oh, you poor little rich man who didn’t have daddy’s love when you were growing up.  But Downey brings the perfect humanity to this character that we can’t help but love the guy.  My only problem with the film is the fact that nobody got enough screen time to flesh out their characters.  These are amazing actors and they had to share what little screen time they had trying to hurry the story to the final fight, which was short and a little disappointing.

Mickey Rourke was pitch perfect as Ivan Vanko/Whiplash.  The Russian accent, the freaky tattoos, the capped teeth…he had it all.  And underneath that dirty exterior I could see a genius in his own right.  But all we got was a few scenes of him tinkering with stuff, wearing a creepy electroid outfit, and then dying a quick death in a far-too-rushed final fight.  I was little disappointed that I didn’t get to see more of him.  Sam Rockwell was another perfect performance as Justin Hammer.  He’s the man with a lot of money who isn’t quite the genius Stark is.  And he totally wants to “stand in Stark’s front yard and take a shit,” as he says in the movie.  You can tell Rockwell had a lot of fun playing the scumbag weasel and you can bet we’ll see him in the third installment.  Don Cheadle was a welcome change playing Terrance Howard’s James “Rhodey” Rhodes.  Cheadle hit it out of the park.  He just wants to help out his friend but still has to follow his orders.  And in the end, he pulls through and helps Iron Man defeat Whiplash and his droids.  One of my favorite scenes is when Rhodey walks into a court room and Stark says, “I didn’t expect to see you here,” and Rhodey replies, “It’s me.  I’m here.  Get over it.”  I laughed so hard.  I love that Jon Favreau included this scene to kind of poke fun at the fact that a different actor was playing the part.  It was nice to see more of Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury.  We get to hear a little more about The Avengers and I geeked out a little bit, as did the audience.  We see a glimpse of Captain America’s shield, which Stark uses to prop up the device he’s working on.  And, of course, I have to mention Scarlett Johansson as Black Widow.  Isn’t Natasha Romanoff/Natalie Rushman supposed to be Russian?  That’s besides the point.  She’s hot eye candy for all the fanboys and she does a good job of kicking ass while she’s doing it.  I was in awe of her cat-like prowess as a fighter, but I’m sure the guys I was with were just in awe of her body.

All-in-all, Iron Man 2 was a fun movie.  It had the same humor as the first film and a lot of great action.  And although the final fight was a little short, in my opinion, it was still completely awesome.  I put partial blame on the screenwriter, Justin Theroux, for rushing some scenes.  And there are a few comic book gems throughout the film for all your comic nerds to find and enjoy.  In the end, I’m not sure if I liked this film or the first Iron Man better.  On its own, though, I loved it.  Filmtastic review = 5 stars!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

