Home > Film Reviews > The Back-Up Plan

The Back-Up Plan

The Back-Up Plan (2010) – Rated PG-13 for sexual content including references, some crude material and language.

While I was watching The Back-Up Plan I realized that I should have made a back-up plan of my own…walking out and watching another movie!  Jennifer Lopez couldn’t save this heap of trash.  Even the handsome Alex O’Loughlin couldn’t be enough eye candy for me to enjoy it.  The movie begins with the longest voice-over to ever, well, begin a movie.  Honestly, if I had been the script reader for CBS Films and saw that the first ten pages were nothing but voice-over, I would have immediately put it in the trash pile.  And, yes, I’ve been an intern/glorified script reader for a production company before.  That would’ve saved me from the rest of this horrible movie.  Even the meet cute between the two characters isn’t even cute.  And, to save you some time, the meet cute is shown in the trailer.  Big shocker.  They both accuse the other of stealing their cab.  Love ensues?  Now I know what you’re thinking.  Hey, it’s a romantic comedy!  You shouldn’t judge it so harshly!  And that’s when I’d tell you that you’re wrong.  Because that would be a direct insult to all romantic comedies.  And there have been some really good ones.  If I asked you to predict what happens in this movie, you’d guess it all.  Boy meets girl.  Girl finds out she’s pregnant.  Girl tells boy.  Boy runs away.  Girl and boy get back together and live happily ever after.  There you have it!  I just saved you your time and your money.  That’s the entire plot.  To make this even worse for me is the fact that I went in with low expectations in the first place.  This movie could have been mildly good and I would have been satisfied because I wasn’t expecting much from it in the first place.  But the fact that I still left the theatre disappointed only lets me know that it was truly a bad film.  1 star.

  1. Beli
    April 29, 2010 at 1:55 am

    Ok I have to admit it is predictable but I am a huge JLO fan. I like this movie. Yeah I did. I love girl movies. There were some funny parts but yeah if you’re not a girly girl this may not be your cup of tea and don’t pay full price for this movie either. I went to watch during the day. Paying over 9.00 is not worth it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

